The Board of Directors of Chams Plc is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Kyari Abba Bukar, Prof Oye Ibidapo-Obe and Mr. Ben Ifeanyi Akabueze as non-executive directors of the company subject to ratification by members at the next Annual General Meeting (AGM). Their appointment came on the heels of the retirement of Alhaji Idi Farouk and Engr. Akin Sawyer who retired after 21 years of service on the board and board committees of the company.


Mr. Bukar Kyari

Mr. Kyari Abba Bukar holds a B.Sc. degree in Physics from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Nigeria and an M.Sc. degree in Nuclear Engineering from Oregon State University, USA. He is an alumnus of Lagos Business School (LBS), Wharton Business School and Harvard Business School, USA.

He is the current serving Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Central Securities Clearing System (CSCS) Plc, a role he assumed on September, 2011. Prior to joining CSCS, Bukar was the CEO of ValuCard Nigeria Plc (now Unified Payments Plc). His early career years were spent at Hewlett Packard, California, USA, where he grew through the ranks to become the World wide Technical Marketing programme Manager before moving back to Nigeria. On his return to Nigeria, Bukar joined FSB International(Now Fidelity Bank) and served in various roles including Executive Director, e-Banking and Information Technology and Operations.

The Chairman of the Nigerian Economic Summit (NESG), Board Member, Credit Registry Services Plc and Member, board of trustees, Investment Protection Fund of the Nigerian Stock Exchange; Bukar holds requisite board, management and industry experience and expertise.


Prof Oye Ibidapo Obe

Prof Obe, attended Ilesa Grammar School and Igbobi College 1962-1968 and the University of Lagos from 1968-1971 where he obtained a B.Sc. Hons in Mathematics (First Class) in 1971. He also obtained M.Sc. in Applied Mathematics with a minor in Computer Science in 1973 and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in Civil Engineering with specialisation in Applied Mechanics/Systems in 1976 both from the University of Waterloo, Ontario, Canada.

Prof. Obe was a Commonwealth Scholar (Canada) (1972-1976); an NSERC/CIDA (Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council/Canadian International Development Agency and a Senior Fulbright Research Scholar (1980 – 1981). He served the University of Lagos from 1 October 1972 as a Graduate Assistant through 1976 as Lecturer Grade II till 1983 as Professor. He also served as head of Engineering Analysis Unit (1991 – 1995) and the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering at the University (1995-1999).

In April 2000, Prof Obe was appointed deputy vice-chancellor of the University of Lagos and later became the vice-chancellor by May 1, 2002. He was the chairman of the Committee of Vice Chancellors of Nigerian Universities and was awarded the Best Vice Chancellor’s Prize (2004 and 2005) for the Nigerian University System (NUS). Prof Obe is president of the Nigerian Academy of Science and is the current Vice-chancellor of the Federal University Ndufu Alike, Ikwo( FUNAI), Ebonyi State. He has published extensively in reputable international journals and has written and delivered numerous academic, social, advocacy, papers since his appointment as professor.


Mr. Ben Akabueze

Mr. Ben Ifeanyi Akabueze is a distinguished banker, accountant, economist and administrator, he holds a first class B.Sc degree in Accounting from the University of Lagos and is an Alumnus of the prestigious Lagos Business School.

He was awarded the JF Kennedy Scholar award, National Merit Scholarship for academic excellence (1980 – 82), Second Place Merit Prize – Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria Professional Exams (1984), Citibank Global Account Management award (1991) and the Distinguished Citizen Award – Anambra State Development Foundation (2003). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Fellow Institute of Credit Administrators (FCA) and an Honorary Member, Chartered Institute of Bankers (CIBN).

Mr. Akabueze has worked with a number of organisations among which are the Nigerian Television Authority, (NTA), Maiduguri, Pricewaterhouse (Chartered Accountants), Nigerian International Bank Limited (Citibank Nigeria), Fidelity Bank Plc and United Bank for Africa Plc. He rose to the apex position of Managing Director/CEO of NAL Bank PLC in 2000 and later as executive Director at Sterling Bank Plc in 2006 before he was appointed Honourable commissioner for Economic Planning & Budget, Lagos State from 2007 to 2015. He is also a Pastor with the Redeemed Christian Church of God.